Honoured Members


Memorial Cup & Abbott Cup Champions

After eliminating St. James Orioles 6-2, 7-3 in two straight games of their best-of-three semi-final playoff, the Monarchs moved on to take on the Brandon Elks for the Manitoba Junior title.

Eyebrows were raised as the Elks hammered the highly-rated Monarchs 12-3 in Game One at Brandon. The Monarchs would regroup quickly and take the next three games 3-2, 9-5, 6-3 and claim the Manitoba Junior hockey title.

It was off to the Lakehead and a best-of-seven series with the Port Arthur Bearcats where the Monarchs continued a bad pattern and lost game one 7-4. Once again, the Monarchs rebounded and took the next four games 5-4 (OT), 7-3, 5-4,

After losing game one, the Winnipeg Monarchs defeated the Edmonton Canadians to capture the Abbott Cup. They went on to beat the Toronto St. Michael's Majors 4-2 in the seventh and deciding game of the Memorial Cup.

Roster: Jack Gibson, Tom Rockey, Laurie May, Al Buchanan (Captain), George Robertson, Harry Taylor, Don "Red" McRae, Clint Albright, Gord Fashoway, Eddie Marchant, Tom "Tank" Kummerfield, Hy Beatty, Cam Miller, Bill Tindall, Dunc Daniels, Gord Scott, Ted Chitty, Walter Monson (Coach), Pat Lyon (GM), Floyd Howe (President), Ed Haverstock (Trainer), Bill Windatt (Equipment Manager).