POPLAR POINT MEMORIALS CAPTURE MANITOBA CHAMPIONSHIP IN 1949 -1950

Jack Bend's Poplar Point Memorials won the 1949 - 50 Manitoba Intermediate B Championship in Portage La Prairie when they trounced MacGregor 13 - 7 in the third and deciding game of the round.

The game was a typical Intermediate playoff with plenty of stiff body checks being handed out. However, officials Vinet and Gunn had a comparatively clean game to handle with only 3 penalties being called.

Apart from the third period when MacGregor made a desparate attempt to come within striking distance, the Memorials out played their opponents before some 2000 cash customers. The biggest crowd in years left the Arena satisfied that the better team had wond.

For Poplar Point, Don Blight, Ed Hogue, Bryan Hextall, Steve Kyzyk and Marvin Hunt each scored a pair with singletons going to Johnny Miller, Ed Hogue and Alfonse Lavoie.

Frank Hay was the leading sniper for MacGregor with three oals while Clarence Moffatt fired a pair. Peter Kramarchuk and Vic Palmer rounded out the scoring with singletons.

Members of the 1950 Manitoba Intermediate B Champions are Don Blight, Bryan Hextall, Johnny Miller, Leo Hogue, Edmond Hogue, Mervin Hunt, Johnny Saunders, Grant Dickenson, Bob Miller, Jack Burnett, Orville Hogue George Little, Alfonse Lavoie, Steve Kuzyk, Janck Bend (Manager), Bill Kuzyk (Secretary-Treasurer), Glen Saunders (President).

Storyline courtesy - Portage Daily Graphic